The Navajo Twin Arrows Casino Resort is now open.
For details check out their website: twinarrows.com
There are no visitor services at Twin Arrows
If you build it they will come!
The once vibrant Twin Arrows’ Trading Post sits empty now among the flat plains and high desert terrain. Except for Interstate 40 which runs in front of the property, the vistas haven’t changed since the Native people were the only inhabitants of the area. The activities of the Native Tribes are documented in the rock carvings found along the walls of Padre Canyon.
The Twin Arrows Trading post, originally Padre Canyon Trading Post, was built on the 1937 Route 66 alignment. It came into its own in 1955 when the Troxell Family turned it into an experience that would put the property into history books as an icon of Route 66. Two telephone poles were put into the ground, “tips and feathers” added, and Twin Arrows was born. Over the years the curio shop and Valentine Diner were added, along with a gas station with above ground tanks that are still visible today.
Sitting vacant in the hot dry Arizona climate has taken its toll on the buildings. The Hopi Tribe, owners of the property, has great hopes for the property, and has already restored the iconic arrows. The State of Arizona, owners of the land, has blocked off the property for a variety of reasons. Please use care when walking along the blockades. Trucks pass in front of the property at a high rate of speed!